Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 9:34 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 12:42 pm 

Hi all, I'm in the middle of my first-time Champlifier build and have been following the instructions to a "T". I've tried to remember to read ahead a few pages so I stay aware of what's coming, and I search this forum if I have questions (highlighted below).

Apart from a few minor speed bumps, it's going very well, thanks fo the excellent instructions and the wealth of info on this site. That said, I have two quick questions, one is about the parts in the kit and the other is related to routing the wiring for the power, switch and fuse (i.e., some of the info on this site and other sites recommend a variance in the wiring to make it safer/more up to modern safety specs). Since I'm still a newb, I want to make sure I get it right...

1) The parts list specifies 8 (eight) 4/40 x 3/8" screws, 8 (eight) 4/40 nuts and 8 (eight) #4 internal lock washers. What I received are 6 (six) regular-headed screws (and all the specified nuts and washers) and 2 (two) screws with a flange/washer type head (along with the proper size washers and nuts). I've already mounted the circuit board and two of the tube retainers, and when I went to install the two screws for the AX7 tube retainer, all I had left were the two big-headed screws and they are too large to fix in the well of the aluminum tube retainer socket. Here's a pic of the AX7 retainer with the screws that are too big and you can also see the other tube retainer with the proper, smaller screw head beside it:

I can't recall if they are the same thread size as the standoff screws, so is it possible I mixed them up and should have used them elsewhere in the build, thus saving the correct screws for the final tube retainer? If that's the case, I'm running to Ace Hardware in a little bit!