Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Fri May 17, 2024 10:04 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:51 am 

Guys, I'm a complete newbie. I've never been much for pedals at all until recently, when my band started using a few random toys. After seeing the stuff here of some of the stuff you guys are building, I have to say I am so utterly impressed. I really really mean that.

I would love to start building some of these pedals myself, but I dunno if my soldering skills are very good. I mean, half the time I screw up soldiering a new guitar pickup in.

One thing I am pretty good at is refinishing a guitar. I imagine finishing an aluminum box would be a lot easier. I also happen to like to screw bits of things together.

So here's what I'm thinking. Maybe a one...or even a few people could make me a ready-to-go kit that I could assemble. I dunno. Just an idea. any takers?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:11 am 

Place an order and Keith (the man behind BYOC) gives you the option to get the Confidence Booster kit with your first kit order (see home page). Try to solder it up and if you can't or don't like feeling of total satisfaction that we all get from building our own pedals....return the main kit and keep the confidence booster. You are only risking a few bucks on shipping.

Try it!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:00 am 

Order a kit and ask for the free confidence booster.
Take your time building the confidence booster. practice your soldering skills. Thats all you need to learn at this stage basically.
You can do it, trust me. They are having a great sale starting tomorrow. Buy 3 get the Phaser free. Or just start with one kit. What pedal or pedals are you interested in? Before you build the pedal of your choice, take a good solid half an hour atleast and READ through the Forum for that pedal. You will begin whatever pedal project with a better sense of knowing about the build, mod options, trouble spots, etc.