Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Sat May 18, 2024 12:49 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:11 pm 

Hi everyone. I am new to all this. I bought this FX52 off Ebay with a bad LED. While I am waiting on an LED and resistor to show up, I decided to remove the center (+) power supply and swap to a center (-) power supply. I must have done something wrong here as the pedal works just fine with the battery clip providing power but not the power supply. As I am typing these words, it hit me that I might just have to swap things around on the center (-) to meet the power supply needs. Any help is appreciated. Mods if this is the wrong place please move it and be gentle, I am fragile.

Attachments:
FGX52 Fuzz insides 2-2.png
FGX52 Fuzz insides 2-2.png [ 810.59 KiB | Viewed 2289 times ]

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:41 pm 

Check to see if you made this common DC jack wiring error: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52139

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:45 pm 
Site Admin

It looks correct to me. The adapter jack looks correct, but it's hard to tell from the pic what's going on with your input jack. I would have to assume you've got a problem with either the jack itself, the power supply itself, or that white cloth wire just isn't making continuity.

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:50 pm 

So I am waiting on parts then I will get back into this. I looked at a similar DOD pedal that I have that uses a center (-) jack. Unfortunately that pedal has the DC power soldered to the PCB so I cannot tell what is wrong/different. Do you think that my trying to swap from a center (+) to a center (-) is the problem? I would think that the leads would be a simple swap but I am thinking nothing here is simple.... at least until you get a level of experience under your belt.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:27 pm